Results & Standings

VfL Wolfsburg and Borussia Mönchengladbach at Marveld Tournament 2022

11 May 2022

Cancellations by Manchester United and Bayer 04 Leverkusen

In the past month the International Marveld Tournament Board had to deal with two cancellations. Namely: Bayer 04 Leverkusen and Manchester United.
Both teams found it very annoying of course but could not do otherwise. For Manchester United it is not allowed to travel into the EU, because not all players are fully vaccinated. Bayer 04 Leverkusen will be competing with an under-16 team for the first time next season and they have to play qualification matches with the current under-15 team during the tournament weekend. The opponent is not drawn until shortly beforehand, so it is not yet possible to discuss the possibility of moving the qualification games.

However, we have managed to secure two very good and strong substitutes: VfL Wolfsburg and Borussia Mönchengladbach.
VfL Wolfsburg plays in the Germany North region and is currently unbeaten in that region. They have won several friendly matches against other well-known German teams. They therefore have a very strong 2007 squad.
Borussia Mönchengladbach plays in the Germany West region (with Schalke and Bayer Leverkusen, among others), is currently top of the table there too and has a very talented 2007 squad, well known in Germany.

These are therefore two very strong German teams and a wonderful addition to the field of participants. Borussia takes the place of Bayer 04 Leverkusen and Wolfsburg takes the place of Manchester United. For both Borussia and Wolfsburg, this is the first time they come to Groenlo.
The field of participants for the weekend of 10 to 12 June is therefore as follows: Ajax, Feyenoord, PSV, AZ, FC Twente/Heracles and Grol from the Netherlands, VfL Wolfsburg and Borussia Mönchengladbach from Germany, Odense BK from Denmark, Slavia Prague from the Czech Republic, Red Bull Bragantino from Brazil and FC Barcelona from Spain.

Down below you will find the new Groups.

Group Extran
  • Grol
  • PSV
  • AZ
  • Slavia Prague
  • VfL Wolfsburg
  • Red Bull Bragantino
  • FC Twente/Heracles
  • Ajax
  • Feyenoord
  • Odense BK
  • Borussia Mönchengladbach
  • FC Barcelona